Pearl of Wisdom #44: “Don’t look back; move forward.” Winifred A.

Lesson Learned: Most of my Pearls of Wisdom come directly from my clients.  However, this one is attributed to the mother of a client.

I recently met Vicki at the retirement community that soon would become her new home.  While we chatted about many of the details relating to the move, I found the conversation often returned to her mother, Winifred.  Vicki reflected how practical her mother was.  “She used to say, don’t look back; move forward.”  It may have been this inspiration from her mother that appeared to ease Vicki’s anxiety about her upcoming move and the next phase of her life.

I reflected more on Winifred’s advice as I drove back to the office and recalled this quote from Ralph Waldo Emerson: “Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day. You shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.”

It appears that Winifred and Ralph Waldo were on the same proverbial page.

www.senior-transition-services.com

Leave a comment